Digital Literacy

In this day and age, the majority of people around the world possess the beautiful and practical ability to read and write. To be unable to accomplish this simple task would put one at a serious disadvantage especially with the advent of social media.

However, it is entirely possible for a person to be literate yet completely illiterate at the same time. As technology advances at a rapid pace some are lagging behind, barely able to keep up. I am one of them.

The numbers, Mason. What do they mean?

Now, before jumping to conclusions, I can assure you that I can use my computer just fine and I am still the family’s go-to guy for tech support. The type of illiteracy that I have to deal with is digital literacy. Specifically, coding.  To be fair, it’s not like I have not tried. I went to attend some coding workshops at school with my classmates  about a year ago and it was genuinely fun. We did a bit of Python and Java and then proceeded to mess around with the given virtual programmable cars we were given. It was just pure childish wonder tinkering with lines of code and watching my car blitz through the maze whilst spinning at speeds that would bring tornadoes to shame. Of course we were taught the basics of HTML as well along with the importance of learning code.

Incoming realization in 3…2..1.

 However, it is shamefully evident that none of that knowledge ever stuck with me as I found myself scratching my head trying to figure out ways to customize my text widget for Day 7 of the Blogging 101 course today. I ended up referring to the link in the email that the fine people of WordPress provided me in order to personalize it.

It amazes me how I am able to craft prose with a lexicon of words yet constructing a simple functioning script is beyond my grasp. How I can master two out of three different alphabet systems in the Japanese language in a short amount of time yet HTML escapes me. Heck, I could probably write a sonnet in the time it took me to finally edit my text widget.

Well, at the end of the day all is good in the world. I have done what is needed and written what I wanted. As for my coding issues, who knows? Maybe someone out there would create a programming language simple enough for us simpletons to comprehend. No, not you.

What are your thoughts?

