Am I Not Malay Enough?

Being in a private international college has made me used to hearing English all around me. The teachers speak English, the students speak English, heck even I speak English. Race did not matter as everyone there speaks English.

The only time I would ever hear any language other than English is when they meet up with friends of similar race. The Chinese in particular(very talkative). But that’s not the point. The issue I have is with my fellow Malays. Specifically, the scholars.

I do not know why but they always speak English whenever they talk to me. Now don’t get me wrong; I am okay with people speaking English to me as I stated before. What I do have a problem with is when they insist on using English when I speak in Malay to them.

I don’t know about you but I find that to be rather rude especially considering that they only use Malay when with their fellow scholars. Now, I understand that the scholars treat most non-scholar Malays the same way as they, like the rest of the student community here, have little to no exposure in the local schooling system where English is mostly spoken during English classes only. Most of these scholars come from that local system so it is perfectly understandable for them to do so as they may want to practice their English skills or avoid the awkward situation where the person does not know even the simplest of colloquial Malay.

However, I come from that system as well. I should know: I was in the last batch of students taking PMR before it was replaced by the dreaded PT3. It might a be bit unfair to the scholars at this point as they couldn’t have possibly known how I feel but not speaking your native language for a long time can have that effect on a person.

Even if said person speaks and writes better in English instead.

Why

Every. Single. Time.

 

What are your thoughts?

